|Mode||Car (A park entry fee is required for driving into the park.)|
|Directions||From Princes Highway, A1|
|Turn map||Directions & comments|
After another 30 m come to the "Ly-ee-moon Graveyard".
The Ly-ee-moon Graveyard is a stark reminder of the horrific accident on the night of May 31st, 1886, when 71 men, women and children lost their lives. The white stone and single cross marks the positions of the unnamed graves. The nearby plaque names the people who lost their lives - sadly some names where not known and these people are remembered only by comments such as 'one who had a German accent'. During the dark night, the lighthouse keeper and assistant heroically rescued 16 people from the sea, and were left to listen to cries for help though the night of other people who could not be saved. The mother of Blessed Mary MacKillop, the first Australian to be beatified by the Catholic church, was one of those lost during the night. The fast and normally reliable ship, operated by the Australian Steam Navigation Company, was a single screw ship converted from a paddle steamer when it was brought to Australia in 1876. The graveyard is about 300m north-west of the Green Cape lighthouse, which was operational at the time the SS Ly-ee-moon struck the reef and sunk.
|Time||10 min to 30 min|
|Quality of track||Clear and well formed track or trail (2/6)|
|Gradient||Gentle hills with occasional steps (2/6)|
|Signage||Clearly signposted (1/6)|
|Infrastructure||Generally useful facilities (such as fenced cliffs and seats) (1/6)|
|Experience Required||No experience required (1/6)|
|Weather||Weather generally has little impact on safety (1/6)|